Field

For the first part of field I was in the group making and modelling with ecological materials where we learnt about how to build with more ecological materials and art and building based around more community based projects, despite this my group looked at the brief in more of a aesthetic way. We used the technique of willow weaving in order to make a sculptural piece we based our work of not only the basis of my subject work which is storrs rock but also the art work of Spencer Jenkins who does both aesthetic and functional willow sculptures. This project I feel didn’t influence my work much apart from me experimenting with texture and sculpture a bit more, it could have possibly but I found that it wasn’t well organised and because of the materials we were using we had to work outside which wasn’t ideal with the time of year and weather, however I could have looked at using more ecological materials in my main practice

The second group I was part of was the Disobedient Objects project, I didn’t have as much time as I would of liked as I had to take time off for health reasons however it was my favorite of the two as there was more of an open brief so I took mine down the rout of failure art with the disobedient object part coming into it with me creating furniture that was designed to not work which i did in the form of making cardboard chairs in different sizes so they were too small or too weak to use, I then filmed someone attempting to sit on the chairs with my final outcome being the films. William Wegman was a main artist influence for this project as his collection of video works mostly include his interacting with objects and furniture or just filming himself while he acts strange, as well as this Tulio Pintos works including chairs influenced me although his work tends to be more about how he can use force and balance in his work. Also another main influence was Bruce Nauman who documents failure and turns it into art work in his photograph “failing to levitate in the studio” where he attempts to levitate between two chairs and ends up falling.  most of the tutorials with this project were based around learning about circuit boards and robotics so that the option of making a working moving object was there which I enjoyed as that is something I didn’t think I’d be able to do but it wasn’t something I was really interested in after giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

