Kurt Schwitters

Kurt Schwitters was a German artist who although working in several genres and media was best known for his collages called Merz Pictures. In his collages he used paper, printed paper and often paint and graphite making them mixed media pieces. As I’ve used a lot of paint over photography and collaged images I thought it would be useful to look into his work.

In these two examples of his work Schwitters has used both collage and paint I find the Merz Picture to relate more to my work as when i’m adding paint I drag it over thinly to get a more opaque look and just colouring the paper where as the paint in the other example is more of a background and is in more solid colour

Above is two examples of my own work and in the one I’ve used Simular deep colours that are shown  in Merz Picture 25A where as I’ve not yet explored the more paintily feel of the paint in “Opened by Customs”

Leave a Reply

